Grouped into waster and eastern gorilla species, western gorillas are divided into cross river gorillas and western low land gorillas, where as the eastern gorillas include mountain gorillas and the eastern lowland gorillas. Gorillas are divided into two species: : the eastern gorillas and the western gorillas. These species are further divided into four subspecies. The different gorilla species and how they behave are explained below:

Genus Gorilla

  • Western gorilla (G. gorilla)
    • Western lowland gorilla (G. g. gorilla)
    • Cross River gorilla (G. g. diehli)
  • Eastern gorilla (G. beringei)

Gorillas are the largest of all apes and live in the wild within ten African countries, though there are some few that are found in zoos across the world.

The four groups of gorillas include

  • the mountain gorillas only found in the virunga conservation area in the forested areas and Bwindi Forest. These rare gorillas are as few as about 900 individuals and are protected in four national parks; Bwindi Impenetrable National Park and Mgahinga Gorilla National park in Uganda, Volcanoes National park in Rwanda and the Virunga national park in the Democratic Republic of Congo.
  • The cross river gorillas - the most threatened species! These are found across the borders of Cameroon and Nigeria.
  • The eastern lowland gorillas is endemic to the Republic of Congo. This specie is only found in the Democratic Republic of Congo
  • the western lowland gorillas found in Angola, Central African Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Republic of Congo, Republic Democratic of Congo